First historical mentions of Frenštát pod Radhoštěm date back to the year 1300, however, the first credible source document referencing the city is from the 14th of March in 1382. In 1781, Frenštát was officially given the title of the city. It features a historical city center, two churches, a myriad of valuable works of art, an indoor swimming pool, aquapark, sports hall, riding stable, tennis courts, several ski jumping hills and much more.
There are many noteworthy buildings in Frenštát, however, the most memorable are likely the cities’ two churches, the parish of St. Martin and the church of St. John the Baptist. Other remarkable buildings include the fruit drying facility located on Papratná street, which was built according to a project by Dušan Jurkovič. There is also the building belfry by J. Stefek located on Kopaná street. Some of Frenštát’s most important monuments include a fountain with the statue of Neptune, which is endearingly referred to as ‘Jonáš’‚ by locals, the column of Virgin Mary from 1686, and the baroque statues of Jan Nepomucký and St. Florian from 1719 and 1773, respectively. Visitors can also enjoy the beautiful statues created by the Frenštát native, Albín Polášek, ‘The Battle of Good and Evil’ or ‘Man Carving His Own Destiny’, both located on Horní street.
The city’s history, however, is more than just monuments, natural beauties and curiosities. It was home to many people over the years and each of them left a mark. Though the legacy of some citizens reached far beyond city borders. Just to name a few, the poet, Josef Kalus sculptor, Albín Polášek composer, Jan Nepomuk poet, playwright and publicist, František Horečka the journalist and politician and Záviš Kalandra,who became a victim of communist repression. Related to sports, we can mention the names of Jiří Raškaan olympic medalist, or Jiří Parma former ski jumping world champion.